Gong Xi Fa Cai! The Year of the Fire Rooster was anticipated in an artsy fashion. Why? It’s because the 11th Spring Film Festival was not only about films. Aside from the public screening, there also were music concert, painting exhibit and painting workshop. And the interesting thing is that everyone is welcome to join those events.

But in those events, the one I liked most was the painting exhibit. There were plenty of paintings displayed in the 2nd floor. The paintings come in different sizes, themes and motifs. However, it is noticeable that most of the paintings were roosters and flowers.

Indeed, I can say that the 11th year of the Spring Film Festival was celebrated successfully. Although the highlight of the festivities was the free screening of Chinese films, the other events were also highly appreciated. I’m looking forward for the 12th Spring Film Festival.

“These Chinese paintings are very beautiful! They are all beyond my expectations.  I’m fond of going to painting exhibits to appreciate art from other people. From this day, I am now a fan of Chinese paintings!”

– Nicole Laj, international student

– Johannes J. Gelilang

